Promoting, supporting and encouraging the study of the United States since 1955

British Association for American Studies


BAAS Public Engagement and Impact Award


BAAS Public Engagement and Impact Award

[vc_row][vc_column width=”1/2″][vc_column_text]

The 2021 award will open for applications on 1 October 2020.

BAAS welcomes proposals from Postgraduate and Early Career Researchers in any field of American studies for its Public Engagement and Impact Award.

Recognizing the diversity of public engagement and impact projects by its Postgraduate and Early Career members, this award seeks to encourage and enhance good practice.

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/2″][vc_single_image image=”5528″ css_animation=”fadeInRight” border_color=”grey” img_link_target=”_self” img_size=”full”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][dt_gap height=”20″][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]

One award of up to £750 will be made available to a project the purpose of which is to either i) disseminate new research to non-academic audience or ii) work collaboratively with an external organization. Any and all events should take place between 1 April 2021 and 31 March 2022.

Please note that the award is not primarily intended to defray routine research costs such as archive trips or attendance at academic conferences. Awards may be used to cover the costs of meetings including organizing workshops or conferences designed to bring together project partners and to showcase the project.

This award is open to all Postgraduate and Early Career Researchers who are BAAS members at the time of application.

BAAS is committed to promoting best practice in matters of equality and diversity and applicants are expected to demonstrate similar consideration when submitting bids to this scheme.

The deadline for submissions is 19 February 2021.

You can find the application form here

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

Past Winners of the Public Engagement and Impact Award

2020: Jessica Mehta, University of Exeter. “White Alliahs:” The Creation & Perpetuation of the Wise Indian Trope

2019: Andrew Rowcroft, University of Lincoln. Celebrating the 80th Anniversary of The Grapes of Wrath and North American Fiction Since 1900

2018: Emily Charnock and Hilde Restad, University of Cambridge

2017: Hannah-Rose Murray, University of Nottingham
[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

For enquiries about the awards, contact Applications for these awards should be submitted electronically to[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][dt_gap height=”20″][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]