Promoting, supporting and encouraging the study of the United States since 1955

British Association for American Studies


BAAS Book Prize


BAAS Book Prize

[vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]

The 2021 BAAS Book Prize will open for submissions on 1 October 2020.

The £500 prize will be awarded for the best published book in American Studies this year. To be eligible for the 2020 BAAS Book Prize, books must have been published in English between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2020 and authors must be members of BAAS.

Authors or publishers may submit books, three copies of which should be sent to arrive no later than 7 December 2020 to:

Louise Cunningham
BAAS Administrator
c/o Professor Ian Bell
School of Humanities
Room CBB1.043
Chancellor’s Building
Keele University

Authors or publishers sending books should confirm their intention to submit items for this award by e-mailing


Please note that books received after the deadline will not be eligible for consideration.  Authors and publishers submitting books for consideration should ensure they are sent in time to arrive before the deadline.  If your book is due to be published close to the deadline then please contact us at


BAAS is committed to promoting best practice in matters of equality and diversity, and will be attentive to issues of equality and diversity when judging applications.For enquiries about the awards, contact[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/2″][vc_single_image image=”5522″ css_animation=”fadeInRight” border_color=”grey” img_link_target=”_self” img_size=”full”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][dt_gap height=”20″][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]

Previous winners of the BAAS Book Prize 

BAAS Book Prize 2020 

Eithne Quinn, The University of Manchester

A Piece of the Action: Race and Labor in Post-Civil Rights Hollywood (Columbia University Press, 2019)

Honourable Mentions

Pekka Hämäläinen, University of Oxford

Lakota America: A New History of Indigenous Power (Yale University Press, 2019)

Sarah Miller-Davenport, The University of Sheffield

Gateway State: Hawai‘i and the Cultural Transformation of American Empire (Princeton University Press, 2019)

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2019

Megan Black, London School of Economics and Political Science

The Global Interior: Mineral Frontiers and American Power (London and Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2018)

Honourable mentions

June Howard, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

The Center of the World: Regional Writing and the Puzzles of Place-Time (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2018)

Daniel Peart, Queen Mary, University of London

Lobbyists and the Making of US Tariff Policy, 1816-1861 (Baltimore: John’s Hopkins University Press, 2018)

Graham Thompson, University of Nottingham

Herman Melville: Among the Magazines (Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 2018)

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2018

Professor Robert Cook, University of Sussex

Civil War Memories: Contesting the Past in the United States Since 1865 (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2017)

Honourable Mention

Dr Tom Davies, University of Sussex

Mainstreaming Black Power (Oakland: University of California Press, 2017)

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2017

Dr Peter Knight, University of Manchester

Reading the Market: Genres of Financial Capitalism in Gilded Age America (Baltimore: John Hopkins University Press, 2016)

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2014

Simon Newman University of Glasgow

A New World of Labour: The Development of Plantation Slavery in the British Atlantic

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2013

Celeste-Marie Bernier  University of Nottingham

Characters of Blood: Black Heroism in the Transatlantic Imagination

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2012

Paul Quigley
University of Edinburgh
Shifting Grounds: Nationalism and the American South, 1848-1865

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2011

Stephen Tuck
University of Oxford
We Ain’t What We Ought To Be: The Black Freedom Struggle from Emancipation to Obama

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2010

Peter Messent

University of Nottingham
Mark Twain and Male Friendship: The Twichell, Howells, and Rogers Friendships

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2008

Kasia Boddy

University College London
Boxing: A Cultural History

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2007

Richard Godden

University of California, Irvine
William Faulkner: An Economy of Complex Words

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2006

Simon Middleton
University of East Anglia
From Privileges to Rights

Honourable mention to:

Andrew Lawson (Leeds Metropolitan University)
Walt Whitman and the Class Struggle

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2005

Richard Follett
University of Sussex
The Sugar Masters: Planters and Slaves In Louisiana’s Cane World, 1820-1860

[dt_divider style=”thin” /]

BAAS Book Prize 2004

Richard King
University of Nottingham
Race, Culture and the Intellectuals, 1940-1970 (Wilson Center/Johns Hopkins University Press, 2004)[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][dt_gap height=”20″][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]